Some sort of funny book sale

There’s this site that sells books and ships them all over the world for free. It’s called the Book Depository. It’s kind of nice.

They’ll have this interesting promotion starting Thursday, November 7 at 7:00 AM EST (12:00 PM GMT, aka 2:00 PM Romania time).

Every half hour, they’ll offer some book on super-promotion. Apparently they sell out really fast, so it’s best if you show up there in the first 20 seconds. Or so. Erm. Yeah, it’s a click-fest. Anyways, they’ll offer a total of 50 titles, spread over 25 hours.

Seems fun and potentially dangerous, if you like books. Which I do. Damn.

Anyways, they’ve done this before – last time they had discounts for 100 books, one offered each 15 minutes. It turns out that last time they gave Salman Rushdie’s Luka and the Fire of Life at a 100% discount. Which means free, shipping and all. They also had Camus, Jane Austen and Orwell on sale. Big names. And also some smaller names I’ve never heard of.

I loved a comment somebody made, that they’d bought Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein – which wasn’t signed, alas 🙁

I have to agree: it would be awesome to have a freshly printed signed copy of Frankenstein, if only because Mary Shelley died in 1851.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *